03 HPM 0813

HPM August 2013

6 News The industry reacts to the latest on the Renewable Heat Incentive and three firms are fined £685,000 after a plumber dies 20 Green comment Marley Plumbing and Drainage talks about bridging the gap between water supply and demand 24 Inside Plumb Center The distributor explains how installers can make the most of living in a digital age 26 Special report The 49th annual IDHEE conference highlighted new and forthcoming technologies 31 Training & technical John Love looks at excess heat CONTENTS dissipitation and how to control it, Glow-worm helps installers break into renewables and JTL looks to break down gender barriers 39 Renewables Ariston looks at the future of water heating, Baxi explains all about the ErP and Alpha believes now is time for the solar thermal industry to shine 46 Heat recovery Xpelair looks at the regulations that are shaping the ventilation industry and Airflow examines the latest ventilation products 53 Sustainability Quinn highlights a number of important factors when choosing radiators and Hunter Plastics looks at the green credentials of PVC @HPMMAG AUGUST 2013 FRONT COVER Unity Business Press is part of Unity Media plc, publisher of 17 titles including Roofing, Cladding & Insulation and Glass & Glazing Products. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, without the consent of the publisher. Direct input by Unity Media Plc. While every effort is made to ensure accuracy, the publishers do not accept liability for errors, printing or otherwise, appearing within this publication. The views expressed by contributors are not necessarily those of the editor or publisher. This publication includes a number of editorial photographs provided and paid for by suppliers. HPM is available free to personnel who come within our terms of control. Subscription Rates: UK - £50 (inc post); O/S - £60 (inc surface mail); O/S - £100 (Airmail); £9 copy. ABC audited. Average net circulation 30,296 for the 11 issues distributed between January and December 2011. Est: 1984. ISSN: 0265-7899. Printed by William Gibbons & Sons Ltd. © 2013 Unity Business Press. Editor Tim Wood twood@unity-media.com 01732 748041 Assistant Editor/Online Editor Graham Cookson gccokson@unity-media.com 01732 748042 Sales Director Andy Dunn adunn@unity-media.com 01732 748065 Advertisement Sales Manager Jenny Wallace jwallace@unity-media.com 01732 748069 Media Sales Louise Opitz lopitz@unity-media.com 01732 748071 Classified Executive Jake Roxborough jroxborough@unity-media.com 01732 748070 Production Manager Lisa White Production Assistant Deborah Marsh dmarsh@unity-media.com 01732 748050 Reprographic Controllers Gregg Foster/Marion Jenkins Circulation 01732 748084 Neil Young, application manager for Uponor UK, highlights what you can do to get the most out of a heating system. Find out more on pages 14- 15... 53 24 26 31 TO SUBSCRIBE CALL: 01732 748084 Unity Business Press, Becket House, Vestry Road, Sevenoaks, Kent, TN14 5EJ Tel: 01732 748000 POWER FLUSHING CHEMICALS Hyper-Flush non-acid flushing liquid HEATING & PLUMBING MONTHLY AUGUST 2013 3 See page 6 Help Line: 01727 875020 www.kamco.co.uk enquiry number 301


HPM August 2013
To see the actual publication please follow the link above