003 HPM 0415

HPM April 2015

6 News Tradesmen are urged to report cold homes, renewables leaving homeowners cold and carbon monoxide alarms to be made mandatory in rented homes 22 Green comment Vokèra examines how a mixture of technologies could help consumers lower energy usage 24 Business feature LGS Plumbing and Heating offers some advice to ensure your pipes don’t bring you winter woes 28 Inside Plumb Center Tim Pollard gives his view on the first year of the Renewable Heat Incentive 55 Renewable energies Gledhill looks at some unvented CONTENTS solutions for heat pumps and solar, NIBE explores the Energy-related Products Directive and Specflue highlights the benefits of air pellet stoves 67 Underfloor heating Uponor demystifies the retrofit myth, Polypipe helps installers choose the best system for a project and Nu-Heat offers five reasons to fit underfloor heating 79 Pipes, pumps, valves & fittings Durapipe reveals the findings of its research into pipework specifications, Spirotech discusses the issues associated with dirt, Pegler Yorkshire explains why push methods can be more widely applied and Salamander’s Home Boost pump is installed step-by-step @HPMMag April 2015 Unity Business Press is part of Unity Media plc, publisher of 17 titles including Roofing, Cladding & Insulation and Glass & Glazing Products. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, without the consent of the publisher. Direct input by Unity Media Plc. While every effort is made to ensure accuracy, the publishers do not accept liability for errors, printing or otherwise, appearing within this publication. The views expressed by contributors are not necessarily those of the editor or publisher. This publication includes a number of editorial photographs provided and paid for by suppliers. HPM is available free to personnel who come within our terms of control. Subscription Rates: UK - £50 (inc post); O/S - £60 (inc surface mail); O/S - £100 (Airmail); £9 copy. ABC audited. Average net circulation 30,296 for the 11 issues distributed between January and December 2011. Est: 1984. ISSN: 0265-7899. Printed by William Gibbons & Sons Ltd. © 2015 Unity Business Press. Editor Tim Wood twood@unity-media.com 01732 748041 Assistant Editor/Online Editor Kathryn Hill khill@unity-media.com 01732 748042 Sales Director Andy Dunn adunn@unity-media.com 01732 748065 Advertisement Sales Manager Louise Opitz lopitz@unity-media.com 01732 748071 Area Sales Manager Laura Hartney lhartney@unity-media.com 01732 748069 Classified Executive Courtney Smith csmith@unity-media.com 01732 748070 Production Assistant Deborah Marsh dmarsh@unity-media.com 01732 74806 Reprographic Controller Marion Jenkins Circulation 01732 748084 Finance Director Helen Lawson Saniflo unveils its largest lifting station yet. Aimed at the commercial market it has a huge 120 litre capacity and takes waste from multiple appliances at any one time... 79 22 55 67 TO SUBSCRIBE CALL: 01732 748084 Unity Business Press, Becket House, Vestry Road, Sevenoaks, Kent, TN14 5EJ Tel: 01732 748000 HEATING & PLUMBING MONTHLY APRIL 2015 3 See page 6 FRONT COVER www.radiatorfactory.net DISTRIBUTOR TO THE MERCHANTS SCAN FOR BROCHURE SPECIALISTS IN BAY WINDOW RADIATORS CAST IRON RADIATORS DESIGNER RADIATORS ECO-ALUMINIUM RADIATORS TEL: 0116 260 9257 enquiry number 302


HPM April 2015
To see the actual publication please follow the link above