04 HPM 0413

HPM April 2013

6 News The industry reacts as the domestic Renewable Heat Incentive is delayed again 12 Industry watch The HHIC believes companies must become more sustainable as part of their business model to increase growth 24 Business feature There is no better time for installers to make the most of the social networking boom, says Graham 28 Inside Plumb Center The distributor highlights the importance of good customer service 35 Training/technical JTL wants a clear definition of CONTENTS apprenticeships, John Love on the future of heating systems and Logic4training looks at commercial catering training 44 Special report Seven plumbers are quizzed on Part G, smart meters, the Green Deal, the boiler market and 2013 49 Renewable energies Vokera’s new Unica i28 boiler is fitted step-by-step 59 Underfloor heating Articles from Uponor, Nu-Heat, Knauf, Wavin and Robben 71 Pipes, pumps, valves & fittings Durapipe on why plastic offers a sustainable future and GAH explains how to boost water pressure @HPMMAG April 2013 FRONT COVER Unity Business Press is part of Unity Media plc, publisher of 17 titles including Roofing, Cladding & Insulation and Glass & Glazing Products. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, without the consent of the publisher. Direct input by Unity Media Plc. While every effort is made to ensure accuracy, the publishers do not accept liability for errors, printing or otherwise, appearing within this publication. The views expressed by contributors are not necessarily those of the editor or publisher. This publication includes a number of editorial photographs provided and paid for by suppliers. HPM is available free to personnel who come within our terms of control. Subscription Rates: UK - £50 (inc post); O/S - £60 (inc surface mail); O/S - £100 (Airmail); £9 copy. ABC audited. Average net circulation 30,296 for the 11 issues distributed between January and December 2011. Est: 1984. ISSN: 0265-7899. Printed by William Gibbons & Sons Ltd. © 2013 Unity Business Press. Editor Tim Wood twood@unity-media.com 01732 748041 Deputy Editor/Online Editor Nichola Farrugia nfarrugia@unity-media.com 01732 748042 Sales Director Andy Dunn adunn@unity-media.com 01732 748065 Advertisement Sales Manager Jenny Wallace jwallace@unity-media.com 01732 748069 Media Sales Louise Opitz lopitz@unity-media.com 01732 748071 Classified Executive Jake Roxborough jroxborough@unity-media.com 01732 748070 Production Manager Lisa White Production Assistant Deborah Marsh dmarsh@unity-media.com 01732 748050 Reprographic Controller David Smith Circulation 01732 748082 Publisher Colin Wilkinson Saniflo has sold more than two million units over the past 30 years. Turn to pages 14-15 to read a selection of stories highlighting where the pumps and macerators have been fitted... 49 24 35 44 TO SUBSCRIBE CALL: 01732 748082 Unity Business Press, Becket House, Vestry Road, Sevenoaks, Kent, TN14 5EJ Tel: 01732 748000 POWER FLUSHING CHEMICALS Systemsafe-DM corrosion inhibitor HEATING & PLUMBING MONTHLY APRIL 2013 3 See page 6 Help Line: 01727 875020 www.kamco.co.uk BUILDING REGULATIONS: PART L states that you should use a chemical corrosion inhibitor Look for DWTA performance tested products with the BuildCert sticker; your guarantee that an inhibitor meets and exceeds a tough performance standard and will give long term corrosion and scale protection to central heating systems. Choose SYSTEMSAFE-DM corrosion inhibitor from Kamco for long term protection and continued energy efficiency. Approved to the DWTA Performance Standard enquiry number 301


HPM April 2013
To see the actual publication please follow the link above